Happy 4th

Posted: July 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Well congrats to me…today marks my 1 week anniversary of entering the hospital. Coincidentally, it’s also the 4th of July. It’s still early here, breakfast rounds are still out…oh joy…
I’ve made tremendous progress over the last day or so. Yesterday, by far, was my greatest day of improvement. I made it 400 steps using my walker…100 steps each before taking a break! I’m starting to build my self confidence back-up, allowing my to try new things. My fluids were finally ordered to stop yesterday…I was on a constant IV fluid drip since I was admitted. This means I now, finally, have the ability to maintain my own fluid level again! After a week, I’m glad to see all of these steps moving forward. I refuse to just be in one place…I strive for goals and I have to feel like I’m going somewhere. 
I have my primary care agreeing to send me home. Physical therapy (though slightly reluctant) is ok with my heading home (working on getting a walker and my power scooter fixed). Because my health insurance loves me so much, they are making me meet my deductible before they will help cover any PT. in other words, I’m trying to make other arrangements. Praying something works quickly. 
I’m simply waiting on neurology to let me go home. Praying they will say yes and let me roll (literally). I’d love to be back home tonight in time to go outside with the boys and look for the fireworks in the sky. Our lives are so much like fireworks you know…we get blasted into existence, we get a short time to make life into what we can and then we fade away. With God, we stand out from the duds that think they can make a boom on their own. Funny thing is, God has the greatest Grand Finale of them all…don’t miss it!! 
Happy 4th!! 
A THOUGHT ABOUT FREEDOM:

“Addressing the issue of inside chatter will lead us to freedom. Not just freedom from negative things like doubt and insecurities, confusion and suspicion. But freedom to pour out love on others. Freedom to think clearly. Freedom to obey God’s call on our lives no matter what others think. Our thoughts really matter.” ~ Unglued, by Lysa TerKeurst

If you enter in my rest, Bethany, you will find rest from all you are striving.  Hebrews 4:9-10

Leave a Reply

