I’m Back!

Posted: January 16, 2012 in Health

I didn’t do much blogging at the conference…though many of my readers don’t know how to comment of my blog (yet), many do know how to email! I received 13 emails asking when I’d be posting again! I LOVE the encouragement! This blog adventure is still very new to me and it has been received with open arms to so many. I launched this as an attempt for me to keep everyone informed but it has turned into a source of encouragement to myself and countless readers. If the stats are correct, this blog has generated over 2,500 hits in two weeks! That blows my mind and my heart. People actually enjoy reading my thoughts and how God continues to work in my life. I love it.

I made it to and from the Children’s Pastors Conference without too many bumps in the road. I tried to do too much (you are smiling…I see you!) and ended up being exhausted. Yet, the conversations I experienced as well as the many tools I now have to use for PBCC’s children’s ministry was well worth the slight pain and exhaustion.

Personal achievement – I made it on my first solo adventure with my little scooter without taking out too many people AND I survived too! This may sound petty to some, but this scooter is an entirely new adventure for me and our family. We purchased a GoGo Pride scooter used off of Craigs List shortly after my pacemaker procedure. The doctors were forcing me to face the reality that long walking trips were not going to work with me…at least not for right now. After realizing they were right through struggling so many times with the cane, I swallowed any remaining pride I had and started the quest. Do you know how incredibly un-sensetive the scooter market is towards 29-year-old adventurous moms? Seriously…after a few days of looking I just couldn’t imagine myself driving down the road with a hitch on the back of our minivan…this wasn’t me at all. I wasn’t looking for a bulky scooter built for luxury…I was looking for a small speedy road demon meant to catch running kids…primarily MY running kids….at Seaworld, Disney and soccer practice! I wanted something that could get my life back.

I connected with a guy with the scooter I now own and we worked out a great deal. This scooter is AMAZING on turns and can go up to 4 mph…I can get up to 12 miles on a single charge! I used the scooter during the entire conference and didn’t even charge it once. It also comes apart, so it goes right in my car and I’m able to assemble and dis-assemble myself. I still enjoy people-bowling on occasion, but for the most part, I’m finally getting it down.

The thing I hate most is the view. I hate being looked-down at. You only get this from seeing the world from my seat…a seat that goes with me on these long trips. I know if I decide to walk the distance, I will feel more “normal,” but I also take the chance of severe exhaustion, which leads to the return symptoms of CDP. I’m feeling pain again in my feet and legs. I know this weekend, as well as my decisions to use a cane at church today brought it back. Sometimes I want to enjoy the “normal” view so much, it ends up costing me in this way Is it worth it? I’m not sure yet. Perhaps I should ask the other children’s ministry leaders I enjoyed Downtown Disney with…or maybe I should ask Josh how much he enjoyed having mommy up and playing at his birthday party. Really…its a tough choice and I’m still a rookie at making these choices.

I’m getting ready to go through 3 appointments this week…Monday with the neurologist, Wednesday with the cardiologist and Thursday with the imaging department. Oh boy….back to reality! BUT I’m also back in ministry this week with Family Night, catching-up with my kids (my ministry kids) and meetings!! It feels like a little bit of “normal” to finally be back in the office at least a little bit. I need to discover a pace that works for me now…that has been quite a challenge. I’m working on it…

As I close, let me encourage you to do something this week. Do something purposely to change your life view. By this I mean…it might be walking on your knees in your child’s bedroom or it might be simply changing your seat in a work meeting. It might be making that trip to the neighbors house to watch their kids or possibly even volunteering for a few hours in a soup kitchen. Sometimes God purposely changes our view and we adapt to see His face, though at times it might not seem as clear as it once was…but it is there. He might not be purposefully changing your view, but you can allow your view to be changed to see Him better (through empathy and seeking out those who need to experience His love in a new way – through you). I now have an amazing love for those people who live daily in wheelchairs…especially our younger generation. I have no clue how God is going to use this new viewpoint in my life…but it’s there for when that time comes.

See…I told you…no matter what, God can use you in any situation. Instead of asking “Why is this happening God?” Ask “How are You going to use this God?” (and I usually add…”Please show me how You are going to use this…hopefully sooner than later!).

Have a great start to your week!

Comments
  1. Good to meet you! Thank you for stopping by Fall Risk and introducing yourself. This is a really busy time right now (changing houses, my first solo trip, etc.), so I don't know when I will get to catch up with you and your posts, but I am glad to meet you and I hope we can be friends.

    Michael

Leave a Reply

