Thank You PBCC!

Posted: January 9, 2012 in PBCC, Thanks

I wrote this email today and it was sent out to all of our members here at Palm Bay Christian Church. I was going to just let it be, but I felt like sharing it on here as well. I realize full-well that for some strange reason I have readers that are not even here at this church…some are not even based in Florida…even others are in other countries and I have no clue who you are…but I welcome all!

I wanted to share my new found definition of a church from a church staff member’s viewpoint. In my world, you go where God wants you to be. In our case, its far away from our parents (Steve’s lives in PA, mine in KY). Steve and I learned early on the dynamics of a church is completely different to a minister’s-kid…its true!

So, as you read this, dance with me please! I am so excited to be here at PBCC and just overwhelmed what God is doing in my life as well as others in our congregation. “God Things Happen Here”…I like this new slogan some of our members have adopted.

For those of you that do attend a church…this will help you get life from a ministry staff perspective. Those of you on staff at a church, this is what a church built on un-conditional love looks like…I’ve not seen it before in my personal life…glad I can start now.

Dear our family here at PBCC –

I’m not sure where to start. When my health started failing back in August, I remember thinking, “No way am I taking a break from what I love here at PBCC!” I continued to press forward to the point that it was obvious I had to allow my church family in to help. Through meals, prayers, cards, playing with our kids, offering rides, encouragement…you not only helped, you accepted us in. I defined my role here at PBCC by my title which requires effort on my part. I prepare the lessons. I recruit, train and encourage volunteers. I love on these amazing kids! I plan, I create…you get the picture here. All of the sudden, you came in as a church family and SHOWED me that I am so much more valuable than what I do…you showed me that true love is accepting people just as they are. I have never had that demonstrated before in my life. I pushed some of you off…and some of you pushed me back! I struggled with letting this new, tighter relationship develop between my “work” and this new family we were coming to know closer than ever before. I was scared because I didn’t want to disappoint you…I wanted to help you (that is my job after all!). What was demonstrated last Sunday through the fund that you, our family, set aside for us – I can only label it as “pure, unconditional love.” I had such a hard time expressing what I was feeling because, you see, “I” didn’t do anything to deserve any of this (sound familiar from one of Tracy’s sermons?). I was overcome, smacked blind sighted by unconditional love. It’s hard to define something you have never felt or seen before. Now I can truly say I have a church family based on raw, in-your-face,  un-conditional love. I don’t think there are many other family ministers out there than can truly say this…I can’t wait to share what I have!

You have given my family peace, hope and a new way of living. No more will I carry the burden of being a financial debt to my family through these health issues. No longer will we stress when our insurance tells us that we need to pay now or the creditors will be notified. No longer will Josh see the mail on the table sit for days because he knows mommy and daddy hate looking at the bills. Even when these financial funds are consumed, no longer will I live thinking what I do here at church defines our relationship. You truly love me and our family for who we are…thank you for loving us so much. Thanks for making us a part of your lives. Thanks for following your heart. Thank you for making love a verb that will forever change my vocabulary. Oh by the way…as if you didn’t already know…we love you all too!

In HIM,

Bethany Boring

You were bought “as-is” – now go, be used as HIS.

Joshua 1:9
Leave a Reply

