Talking About Baptism…

Posted: September 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

Maybe it just me but…does it seem to you that the topic of baptism is rarely really discussed in churches today? Think about it…Someone sees a baptism for the first time, discusses it with a friend, who refers them to a minister who talks to that individual one-on-one. Though this scenario is all well and good, I sit here going, “If baptism is SO great, why aren’t we telling the world about it?”

I just completed the last week of our 3-week Journey Baptism Class, open to all of the families at our church and offered twice a year. Participants are REQUIRED to attend all 3 classes, attend with a parent and actively complete the homework assigned AS A FAMILY. Its funny how a 3 week class on the topic of salvation can generate so much discussion.

What ages should come?
Just because they come doesn’t mean they should be baptized.
What kind of homework?
Can I share my faith in God at school/work?
Where’s the bathroom?

Okay…seriously…it just goes to show you how much the real topic of salvation or perhaps the answer to lifes hardest question, “How can I know if I am going to heaven?” is failed to be OPENLY and PUBLICLY answered in the midst of today’s fast paced, give it to me in 3 simple steps ideas.

I have the steps to salvation we talked about in our class for anyone who may want them…in fact, I’ll give you the entire 3 week outline…just send me a message!

I LOVE to hear people talk about that step of baptism (one of 6 of the steps in total by the way). I love public baptism. I love the excitement…the planning…the yearly anniversary.

A student at our church even wrote a paper regarding her baptism experience. I posted it below, exactly as she sent it to me…As you read ask yourself if baptism is really talked about and celebrated in your church. It makes PBCC a better place…get excited!

I positioned myself timidly on the staircase of the baptistery, awaiting the cue to go down. I stood saturated with a combination of anticipation and apprehension. Suddenly, the church filled with people, they roared with exhilaration, and boomed with the clapping of hands. I slowly walked down the steps of the baptistery. The water once warm with depth felt much colder, as I walked deeper into the waters, I stood before everyone.
Looking out at the whole youth room, I noticed it was cram packed with the members of the congregation. The people in the room were filled with enthusiasm and excitement. Bowing my head as an elder prayed, I felt the body of Christ coming together. A great peace flooded through my whole body and, my eyes filled with tears. Surrendering, I knew I was finally ready to summit myself to the will of God. 
Then my Anela said those beautiful words, “I now baptize you in the name of the father, the son, and the Holy spirit.” As she grasped my hand, I plugged my nose as I fell in slow- motion into the water. The warmth washed over my face, and flowed over my whole body as I fell back. What was only a matter of seconds felt like hours, a lifetime in slow-motion. 
As I was raised back up, the people in the room cheered and filled the air with the singing of praises of Amazing Grace. The smell of flowers filled my nostrils, while my tears flowed down my face as my Anela hugged me. Sopping wet I timidly walked back up the steps of the baptistery, this time beaming with happiness. This was the birth of my new life, the first day of the rest of my life. 

Leave a Reply

